The Substation/
Currently closed

The Substation/ Support/

DaS#7 / Jo Lloyd, Melanie Lane, Female Wizard / Photography by Sarah Walker

Every dollar donated to The Substation supports the independent artists, the organisations and the community groups that we collaborate with, and helps us broker new partnerships into the future.

We know that not everyone has the capacity to give at the moment. We deeply appreciate all your support: financial and non-financial. If you're unsure where we're to start, we recommend making a tax-deductible gift of: $10, $25 or $70.

No gift is too small. Every dollar goes towards helping us champion creative ambition. Together, our future is looking bright.


Donate today

How to donate to The Substation:

Direct Debit or Bank Transfer
The Substation Donation Fund
Account number: 175052
Please remember to email remittance to our General Manager Gabrielle Ryan to obtain a tax deductible receipt

Made out to The Substation
Post to 1 Market Street Newport VIC 3015
Please remember to include your name and address so we can send you a tax deductible receipt

Credit Card
GiveNow Platform

Wanting to talk about how you could support The Substation? Please contact our General Manager Gabrielle Ryan at or (03) 9391 1110.

Information on Tax Deductible Donations
The Substation is a registered Deductible Gift Recipient (DGR) and endorsed as a Charitable Entity under the Income Tax Assessment Act 1997. The Substation is also on the Australian Government Register of Cultural Organisations.

All donations over $2 are tax deductible.

Amber Stuart
Amelia Bartak & Murray McKeich
Andrew Huynh
Brad Spolding
Dominic & Sandra Arcaro
Eloise Curry
Erin Milne
Gideon Obarzanek
Gina Stuart
James Lockyer
Lawrence English
Lillian Birch
Lucy Guerin
Michaela Coventry
Stephen Armstrong
Susan van Wyk & Timothy Lee
Tammy Wong-Hulbert
Tim Watts
Helen Mary Therese Nicholson (Bequest)


Applications now open
Volunteers: We’re always on the lookout for volunteers who are enthusiastic and dedicated to the promotion of experimental visual and performing arts in its myriad forms. To find out more about upcoming volunteer opportunities, please complete an expression of interest form below.
Sign up to our

1 Market Street, Newport,
Victoria 3015, Australia

Currently closed
Wed–Sat 12–6pm

We acknowledge and recognise the Ancestors, Elders and families of the Yalukit-willam of the Kulin Nation, who are the traditional custodians of the land that The Substation is on. We extend our respects to their ancestors and elders past, present and emerging, and to all First Nations people.

We are committed to continually improving our services to ensure our events can be enjoyed by all. If you have specific access requirements (including seating arrangements for events) please get in touch.

Privacy Policy


What's on
Melbourne International Jazz Festival/​ Hand to Earth/​ 28–28 October 2023/
Substation Program/​Outdoor Billboard Gallery
Caitlin Franzmann/​ Recompose/​ 22 July–1 October 2023/ Photo of divination cards  artwork Recompose. The image is cropped to show two hands – one holding deck of cards and the other placing a card down on a mossy tree log covered in autumn leaves next to two other cards. The cards have botanical-like illustration artworks on them in greyscale.